Board of Trustees

Chicago State University's CampusThe Illinois General Assembly created the Chicago State University (CSU) Board of Trustees through adoption of Public Act 89-4, effective January 1, 1996. The Board consists of seven members appointed by the Governor and one student member elected by the student population. The Board's primary objective is to commence service in the public interest to promote and foster the ability of the University to offer courses of instruction, conduct research and offer public services as are now provided and may be prescribed in the future by the Board; and to promote, foster, and support the mission, vision, and values of the university and the general welfare of the university, students, faculty, and staff. The Board's primary focus is one of oversight and policy determination.

CSU Mission Statement

CSU is a public, comprehensive University that provides access to higher education for students of diverse backgrounds and educational needs. The University fosters the intellectual development and success of its student population through a rigorous, positive, and transformative educational experience. CSU is committed to teaching, research, and service and community development including social justice, leadership and entrepreneurship.

CSU Vision Statement

CSU will be recognized for:

  • innovations in teaching and research
  • promoting ethical leadership, entrepreneurship
  • social and environmental justice.

We embrace, engage, educate, and empower our students and community to transform lives locally and globally.

CSU Core Values

  • Creative and innovative thinking and learning
  • Dignity and unique talents of all persons
  • Diversity
  • Intellectual development
  • Leadership, service, philanthropy, social justice, and entrepreneurship
  • Lifelong learning
  • Pride in self, community and the university
  • Responsible choices and actions
  • Personal and academic excellence
  • Personal, professional and academic integrity